Reliability Focused Asset Management (RFAM)

The RFAM process is designed to improve plant reliability and to optimize the maintenance function by making it cost-effective as well as extending equipment life by improving asset care practices.


Six Sigma Principles

Our RFAM process is built around the principles of Six Sigma (Define-Measure-Analyze-Improve-Control). This can be broken into four phases, each incorporate reliability audit tools and processes. Each of the four phases need a different strategic and management requirement.


Phase 1 - Reliability Review Process


Phase 1 is designed to establish a starting point, a plan for reliability improvement or the implementation of reliability services at your facility.


This process can include either or all of the following Monition methods depending on your status:


RLS - Reliability Line Studies
CBMA - Condition Based Maintenance Audit (Against Best Practice)
CATS Process - Criticality Assessment and Technology Selection Process

Phase 2 - Introducing Condition Based Maintenance (CBM) Systems


Phase 2 is the set up for the new CBM program requirements (established in phase 1) and initial data gathering (fingerprinting) to determine the current plant condition.

Phase 3 - Reliability Systems (Ongoing Practices)


This is to ensure that the supporting structure (skills, resources, documentation etc.) for the new reliability program are in place and the program is being executed as designed to ensure the end results are achieved.


This may include site up-skilling, training, awareness sessions or the delivery of specialist services.

Phase 4 - Reliability Review


Phase 4 is the reliability improvement process for continuous improvement and maintenance optimization. This phase enables a site to achieve real world improvements that are sustainable. This process may include either or all of the following Monition delivered methods:


M-SISC - (Monition’s - Strategy Improvement and Sustainability Compass)
PPMD - Plant Preventative Maintenance Developments
RCFA - Root Cause Failure Analysis
FMECA - Failure Modes Effect and Criticality Analysis


The implementation of RFAM requires all four phases and time to establish. The program will vary depending on the resource profile and availability. Please note that Monition also offer specific CBM services as well as full RFAM reliability improvement process.


Full Implementation of the RFAM process leads to the following benefits:


This process gives a physical assessment of asset condition and verification of maintenance practices
Provides benchmark against best practices
Identifies requirements to eliminate inherent machine issues
Targets maintenance/machine improvements
Criticality of plant items established
Determines true business objectives 'cost avoidance'
Ensure appropriate CBM techniques are selected
Risk management-workload targeted and managed
Detection of potential failures using relevant CBM techniques
Provides correct planning/prioritisation
Optimises the lubrication program
Links to CMMS creating the platform for continuous improvement
Links CBM program with business objectives
Identifies other hidden costs (online, guard modifications etc.)
Ensures continuous data integrity/continuity
Identifying candidates for performance improvement
Ensures incremental improvements to CBM program
Continuous improvement to maintenance function
Maintenance optimisation
Provide decision analysis methods for ensuring correct improvement strategies
Determine real-world improvements



Contact Monition