Reliability Focused Asset Management (RFAM)

The RFAM process is designed to improve plant reliability and to optimize the maintenance function by making it cost-effective as well as extending equipment life by improving asset care practices.


The RFAM process is built around the principles of Six Sigma (Define-Measure-Analyze-Improve-Control). This can be broken into four phases, each incorporate reliability audit tools and processes. Each of the four phases need a different strategic and management requirement.


Phase 1 - Reliability Review Process


Phase 1 is designed to establish a starting point, a plan for reliability improvement or the implementation of reliability services at your facility.


This process can include either or all of the following Monition methods depending on your status:


■ RLS - Reliability Line Studies
■ CBMA - Condition Based Maintenance Audit (Against Best Practice)
■ CATS Process - Criticality Assessment and Technology Selection Process

Phase 2 - Introducing Condition Based Maintenance (CBM) Systems


Phase 2 is the set up for the new CBM program requirements (established in phase 1) and initial data gathering (fingerprinting) to determine the current plant condition.

Phase 3 - Reliability Systems (Ongoing Practices)


Phase 3 is to ensure that the supporting structure (skills, resources, documentation etc.) for the new reliability program are in place and the program is being executed as designed to ensure the end results are achieved.


This may include site up-skilling, training, awareness sessions or the delivery of specialist services.

Phase 4 - Reliability Review


Phase 4 is the reliability improvement process for continuous improvement and maintenance optimization. This phase enables a site to achieve real world improvements that are sustainable. This process may include either or all of the following Monition delivered methods:


■ M-SISC - (Monition’s - Strategy Improvement and Sustainability Compass)
■ PPMD - Plant Preventative Maintenance Developments
■ RCFA - Root Cause Failure Analysis
■ FMECA - Failure Modes Effect and Criticality Analysis


The implementation of RFAM requires all four phases and time to establish. The program will vary depending on the resource profile and availability. Please note that Monition also offer specific CBM services as well as full RFAM reliability improvement process.


Full Implementation of the RFAM process leads to the following benefits:


■ This process gives a physical assessment of asset condition and verification of maintenance practices
■ Provides benchmark against best practices
■ Identifies requirements to eliminate inherent machine issues
■ Targets maintenance/machine improvements
■ Criticality of plant items established
■ Determines true business objectives 'cost avoidance'
■ Ensure appropriate CBM techniques are selected
■ Risk management-workload targeted and managed
■ Detection of potential failures using relevant CBM techniques
■ Provides correct planning/prioritisation
■ Optimises the lubrication program
■ Links to CMMS creating the platform for continuous improvement
■ Links CBM program with business objectives
■ Identifies other hidden costs (online, guard modifications etc.)
■ Ensures continuous data integrity/continuity
■ Identifying candidates for performance improvement
■ Ensures incremental improvements to CBM program
■ Continuous improvement to maintenance function
■ Maintenance optimisation
■ Provide decision analysis methods for ensuring correct improvement strategies
■ Determine real-world improvements



Contact Monition